What are Chakras?

What are Chakras?

Chakra, is a Sanskrit word which by definition, are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions. Blocked energy in our chakras can often lead to illness, so it's important to understand what each chakra represents and what we can do to keep this energy flowing freely.

We can commonly count 7 chakras positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, that is depicted through a specific chakra color, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human.

You need to understand that you are energy. All living things are created by and comprised of energy. The ability of your energy centers to function optimally is what keeps you psychologically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually balanced.

1st Chakra : The Root Chakra

  • Location: Base of the spine
  • Sanskrit: Muladhara/”Root support”
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Issues: Stability, survival, unity, identity, ego, birth, death
  • Associated with: Legs, feet, bones, adrenal gland, large intestine, teeth, spinal column
  • Governs: Perception of the physical world; motivation and intent, birth, work, money, eating, digestion
  • Malfunction: Weight problems, eating disorders, constipation, sciatica, arthritis, knee problems
Healing Techniques
  • Music: Tribal drums
  • Affirmations: I am Earth. I am here. I am solid. I am alive. I am beginning anew.
  • Yoga poses: Mountain, squat, child’s pose
  • Connect with: Mother Earth/pacha mama, the soles of the feet, root lock/mula
  • bandha
  • Pranayama: Ujjayi breath
  • Practice: Hatha yoga, yin yoga
  • Meditation: Breath awareness
  • Healing stones: Red Jasper, Ruby, Garnet

2nd Chakra : The Sacral Chakra

  • Location: Sacrum
  • Sanskrit: Svadistana/”Sweetness”
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Issues: Duality, choice, desire, emotions, sexuality
  • Associated with: The liquid part of the body, circulatory and urinary systems
  • Governs: Feelings of creativity; the intimacy and vulnerability of sexual attraction; the ability to produce and nurture our own children
  • Malfunction: Impotence, frigidity, uterine/bladder/kidney problems, lower back pain
Healing Techniques
  • Music: Jazz
  • Affirmations: I am change. I am growth. I am desirable. I am dynamic. I am flowing with grace.
  • Yoga poses: Warrior 1, Warrior 2, lizard, pigeon, hanumanasana (“the splits”)
  • Connect with: The hips
  • Pranayama: Alternate Nostril Breathing
  • Practice: Tantra yoga, Vinyasa flows
  • Meditation: Meditation on sensation
  • Healing stones : Carnelian, Ruby, Citrine, Aventurine

3rd Chakra : The Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Location: Navel
  • Sanskrit: Manipura/”Lustrous gem”
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Issues: Power, will, strength, courage, effort
  • Associated with: Adrenal glands, pancreas, liver, stomach, nervous system;
  • regulation and distribution of metabolic energy
  • Governs: Emotional issues, personal power, self-respect, courage, healthy humility
  • Malfunction: Ulcers, diabetes, digestive disorders, muscular problems

Healing Techniques

  • Music: Rock
  • Affirmations: I am powerful. I am fierce. I am capable. I am energetic. I can change my life.
  • Yoga poses: Single leg lifts, double leg lifts, boat, eagle, plank
  • Connect with: The core, abdominal lock
  • Pranayama: Breath of fire
  • Practice: Karma yoga
  • Meditation: Meditation on emotion
  • Healing stones: Citrine, Agate, Topaz

4th Chakra : The Heart Chakra

  • Location: Center of chest
  • Sanskrit: Anahata/”Unstruck sound”
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Issues: Love, friendship, kindness, forgiveness, devotion, generosity
  • Associated with: Thymus gland, lungs, hands, heart, blood; immune and endocrine systems.
  • Governs: Love, compassion, unconditional acceptance
  • Malfunction: High blood pressure, respiratory problems, heart and lung problems, feeling heartbroken
Healing Techniques
  • Music: Classical Music
  • Affirmations: I am fresh. I am clean. I am loving. I am loved.
  • yoga poses: Standing back bend, camel, reverse warrior, triangle, bridge, wheel
  • Connect with: The heart, the breath, the wind
  • Pranayama: Full yogic breath
  • Practice: Bhakti yoga, yin yoga, restorative yoga
  • Meditation: Forgiveness, Metta (Loving kindness)
  • Healing stone : Aventurine, Rose Quartz, Rhodochrosite

5th Chakra : The Throat Chakra

  • Location: Center of neck
  • Sanskrit: Vissudha/”With purity”
  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Sound
  • Issues: Communication, expression, creativity, speech, listening
  • Associated with: Thyroid and parathyroid glands, lungs, vocal cords, shoulders, neck, arms, hands
  • Governs: Expression of thoughts and feelings, finding our own truth and relearning the ability to express ourselves
  • Malfunction: Colds, thyroid problems, ear/hearing problems, sore throats, speech problems
Healing Techniques
  • Music: World Music
  • Affirmations: I am open. I am honest. I am expressive. I am empowered.
  • Yoga poses: Camel, shoulder stand, fish, neck rolls, cobra
  • Connect with: The throat
  • Pranayama: Bumblebee breath
  • Practice: Chanting, Mantra yoga
  • Meditation: Tonglen
  • Healing stones: Lapis Lazulli, Turquoise, Kyanite, Blue Topaz

6th Chakra : The Third Eye Chakra

  • Location: Between eyebrows
  • Sanskrit: Ajna/”Wisdom center”; perception and command
  • Color: Purple
  • Element: Light
  • Issues: Intuition, insight, intellect, imagination
  • Associated with: Pineal gland; visual input from our two physical eyes and our “third eye” of psychic perception
  • Governs: Spirituality and the search for meaning in life, visualization, inner awareness and witness consciousness
  • Malfunction: Blindness, headaches, nightmares, eye strain, blurred vision

Healing Techniques

  • Music: Soul
  • Affirmations: I am looking. I am seeing. I am noticing. I am intuitive. I connect with my inner wisdom.
  • Yoga poses: child’s pose, cobbler’s, savasana, locust, bow
  • Connect with: The forehead, the present moment, the inner self
  • Pranayama: Kapalabhati breathing
  • Practice: Yantra yoga
  • Meditation: Vipassana/insight meditation
  • Healing stones: Moonstone, Amethyst

7th Chakra : The Crown Chakra

  • Location: Top of head
  • Sanskrit: Sahasrara/”Thousandfold”
  • Color: White
  • Element: Thought
  • Issues: Divinity, wisdom, connectivity, inner peace, enlightenment
  • Associated with: Pituitary gland
  • Governs: Our connection to the divine, the universe, God, our Buddha Nature, a higher intelligence; living our Truth; willingness to surrender
  • Malfunction: Depression, alienation, confusion, boredom, apathy, feeling disconnected or disjointed

Healing Techniques

  • Music: The sound of silence
  • Affirmations: I am. I am here, now. I am god.
  • Poses: Headstand, rabbit, downward dog, easy pose, half-lotus, lotus
  • Connect with: The top of the head, the sky, the universe
  • Pranayama: Ocean breath
  • Practice: Raja and jnana yoga
  • Meditations: Zazen, pure awareness, mindfulness
  • Healing stones: Crystal Quartz, Diamond

What are you looking for?

Featured Collection

Featured Collection

Join the Aumunity to receive a 30% discount off your first purchase, start your rewards program and go into a monthly draw for an exclusive personally designed mala!!

Your cart